Yoga Sutra 3.4

4 Apr

Sutra 3.4: trayam ekatra samyama

  • trayam = the three
  • ekatra = as one
  • samyama = the union of concentration (dharana), meditation (dhyana) and the deep absorbtion state (samadhi).

Translated loosely into English;

The three as one is called samyama.

The 6th, 7th and 8th limbs combined together is called Samyama. The student begins with awareness of an object, which leads to concentration (on the object), then leads to meditation which leads to total absorbtion of the object which then leads the student to realize the true nature of the object which IS Samyama.  It is the process and the realizations of truth that are Samyama. The object is seen with clarity, pure and ‘as it is’. This is the goal and process of the final limbs.

concentration + meditation + samadhi = samyama

It is important to note that the type of Samadhi here is OBJECTIVE samadhi, where the student is conscious of the object.

The main barrier in this process is EGO.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: