Yoga Sutra 2.50

21 Mar

Sutra 2.50: bahya abhyantara stambha vritti desha kala sankhyabhih paridrishtah dirga sukshma

  • bahya = external
  • abhyantara = internal
  • stambha = supports
  • vritti = activity, fluctuation, character
  • desha = spot, part, place, point
  • kala = time, period of time
  • sankhyabhih = count, by the (Sankhya) order
  • paridrishtah = to be seen
  • dirga = long, prolonged
  • suksema = great peace (subtle)

Translated loosely into English;

There are 3 (types of pranayama) external, internal and suspension. By observing space, time and count; breath becomes long and subtle.

There are 3 types of breath retention given in this sutra; external retention (exhalation), internal retention (inhalation) and suspension. These techniques of pranayama are prepatory for deeper limbs of concentration and meditation. The observations of space, time and count increase the concentration of the mind.

Space = where the breath ends, begins or where prana is felt

Time = length in inhalation, exhalation, retention

Count = ratio of inhale to exhale to retention, method


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: