DAY 3: Yoga Sutra 1.3

3 Sep

Sutra I.3;  tada drashtuh svarupe  ‘vasthanam

  • tada = at that moment, then
  • drashtuh = derives from the root word ‘drsh’ meaning ‘to see’ ; indicating the student will then see thus the student is the seer, the observer, the Self, Atman
  • svarupe = derives from the root word‘sva’ meaning ‘own’ and ‘rupa‘ meaning ‘form‘; own form, own/true/pure nature, genuine, truth
  • ‘vasthanam = derives from the root word ‘stha’ meaning ‘to stand’; stands, remains

Translated loosely into English;  

At that moment, truth of pure nature remains (self-realization).

Beyond the realms of the physical body, the mind, the Ego-mind is a silence.  An awareness.  Similar to a painting done on canvas, regardless of color, paint or charcoal, behind the painting remains a pure canvas.

During life we experience many waves of thought, thought patterns, fluctuations, attachments, etc.

Patanjali identified these into the following five states of mind:

  1. Wandering (ksipta): This is lowest state of mind and the person is highly agitated and unable to think, listen, or keep quiet.
  2. Dull (mudha): In this state of mind the person is forgetful and lacks awareness of their own thoughts and experiences.
  3. Restless (vikspita): The mind has become more aware but is in a constant state of confusion and the individual has difficulty deciding what to do.
  4. Focused (ekagra): The mind is both calm, aware and focused on the present moment.
  5. Mastered (nirodha): The mind is able to concentrate on a single focus for extended periods of time and remains undistributed by the situations and circumstances of life.

Once on the path of Yoga and/or meditation, we learn about these various modifications of the mind and experience it.  We understand that the mind fluctuates, can be stagnant, or erratic, etc.  We experience a separateness from our thoughts, from our body and we examine it further to an understanding of a constant awareness and reality.  This awareness is known as pure consciousness, pure intelligence or buddhi.  If we can observe the body, we come to know that we must not be the body.  If we can observe the mind, we must not be the mind.  If we can observe the Ego, we must not be the Ego.  This observer of pure consciousness is also known as Atman, awareness, or the Self.  Consciousness observes but can not be observed.  The seer is then experiencing itSelf.  This is the union of Yoga; when the fluctuations of the mind are stilled, revealing pure consciousness or awareness.  We unite with our true Self.  To be silent, still, is to abide in pure awareness.  That is our true nature. We ARE awareness.  It is THIS awareness that resides in everything, interconnecting everything in the universe…. The Secret of Yoga.

The permanent, infinite awareness, our true nature, is never changed always constant.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: